top of page

Cognitive Mapping in Data Visualisation

Data visualisation is an umbrella term. It is used for any visual technique that tries to make data easier to understand and interpret by presenting it in a visual format. Here I have done simple drawings of cognitive mapping, in which neural connections spark energies to connect with one another. The rationale behind data visualisation is that certain aspects of data (similarities or differences, trends, interrelationships, patterns) can be more easily identified or clarified using a visual representation than they can in text-based form. 


Following on from the initial cognitive mapping drawings I drew one of them on a piece of acetate. I then stuck it onto my window to create a full layered image. This is where I got the idea to look into data that is currently affecting me sat doing art in my own room during this pandemic.



bottom of page